San Diego State University has the only Astronomy Department in the California State University system, and is the only campus to offer Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Astronomy. The Department is actively engaged in research and is highly committed to student education. Students actively participate in research under the direction of the Department’s seven faculty. The Department provides excellent research and instructional facilities with its Mount Laguna Observatory and CCD Laboratory.